Lancaster Community Fund

LCF CF EIE Together

About the Fund


The Lancaster Community Fund is a permanent unrestricted charitable endowment dedicated to serving the Lancaster community. The Fund provides means for individuals, organizations, and businesses to support their charitable interests. Annually, a portion of the Fund’s earnings are given back to the community in the form of grants that support the elderly, historic preservation, the arts, the environment, and education.

A nine-member volunteer advisory board is responsible for fundraising and the grant distribution process.

Family of Funds

Following is a listing of funds, many of which have been established by individuals or organizations to support their charitable goals for the community:

  • Lancaster Community Fund Endowment
  • Merlet Family Endowment
  • Morse Family Endowment
  • Schacht Family Endowment
  • Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Endowment
  • Winskill School Scholastic Endowment
  • Roggensack Family Endowment
  • Randy Dudler Kid’s Courtyard Endowment
  • Gillilan Family Community Fund
  • Josephine Morris & Mary Marm Wilson Memorial Endowment
  • Douglas and LuAnne Pink Family Charitable Fund
  • Making a Difference for Lancaster Youth
  • Josephine Pebworth Legacy Endowment Fund
  • The Klaas Family Fund

About our Grants

The Lancaster Fund accepts grant applications in the spring from non-profit organizations, the local school district, and/or local government agencies providing charitable programs or projects that better the community. Awards are made in July at the annual Night on the Square event.

Recent Grant Awards

Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund

  • City of Lancaster:  Preserving the Past, Planning for the Present, and Focusing on the Future
  • City of Lancaster: Ice Rink Expansion
  • Grant Regional Health Center Foundation Inc.: Addition of a third Operating Room
  • Lancaster Fire Department Fund Inc.:  New turnout gear

Douglas and LuAnne Pink Family Charitable Endowment & Lancaster Community Fund

  • Lancaster EMS, Inc. Communications-Portable Radios

Josephine Pebworth Legacy Endowment Fund & Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund

  • City of Lancaster Night on the Square Band

Lancaster Community Fund

  • Day Center Window Coverings

Merlet Family Community Endowed Fund

  • Grant County Tree Removal and Replanting at the Grant County Fairgrounds

Morse Family Fund

  • Southwest Wisconsin Technical College Foundation Fuel A Charger Program
  • Maple Street Kids Daycare Center, Inc. Bicycles

Morse Family Fund & Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund

  • Southwest Opportunities Center Inc The SOC Gardening Project

Schacht Family Fund

  • Lancaster Community Schools Fit 4 Life – Safe for Life

Supporting Our Youth – The Braeden Bausch Fund & Lancaster Community Fund

  • City of Lancaster LYBSA Batting Cage


2022 TOTAL: $63,993


Lancaster EIE Grants

Lancaster Community Schools:

  • Fourth Grade STEM Club
  • Hillery Auditorium Stage Lighting Upgrade (up front)
  • Instructional Media Center Collaboration Space
  • Opera for the Young – Barber of Seville
  • Professional Camera for Photography & Publications Students

Saint Clement School:

  • 3D printers & support materials for Instructional Media Center


Apply For A Grant

Annual grant application deadline: May 1 and November 1

Grant Guidelines

Tips and tools for you to use as you prepare your application. Print out this PDF as you prepare your grant for a quick checklist of your progress.

Invest In Your Community

Donations to the Lancaster Community Fund are welcome at any time of the year. All gifts are tax deductible. Mail a check to this address, or click the button to donate online.
Lancaster Community Fund
P.O. Box 81
Platteville, WI 53818

Donor Services Representative

Dave Murphy
Phone: (608) 758-0883

Advisory Board Members

The Fund is advised by a committee of community volunteers who initiate fundraising activities and determine grant awards:

Amara Hoffman, Chair
Kyle Vesperman, Vice Chair
Dana Straka, Secretary
Tom Driscoll
Daniel Glass
Susan Hermsen
Carey Howard
Lee Rupnow
Steve Walker