Lancaster Community Fund Presents Tiedemann Charitable Fund, Gillilan Family Charitable Fund grants

Since 2000, LCF has awarded 205 grants, totaling nearly $507,000

The Lancaster Community Fund advisory board welcomed representatives for twelve outstanding projects to its December 13 grant reception and presentation event.

Prior to announcing the recipients, advisory board chair Joe Krantz recognized the service of several “local leaders in philanthropy,” including:

  • David Helmke and Bette Steinbrenner, who have both served their maximum 6 years on the advisory board;
  • Susan Hermsen and Kyle Vesperman, newly elected advisory board members;
  • Megan Slane, the editor of the LCF annual update and solicitation letter;
  • Kris Wolf and Stuart Harper, for their service on the grants review committee;
  • Rod Roggensack, for his tireless service as historian and for providing orientation to new members; and
  • Ken Klaas for his past service to the LCF board and his current service on the board of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin.

Eleven grants totaling $62,600 were presented from the Charles “Sonny” Tiedemann Charitable Fund as follows:

  • $5,000 to Winskill Elementary, in support of the ‘bookroom’ project and specifically for the purchase of books for the bookroom;
  • $2,000 to Wisconsin Badger Camp to purchase a griddle for the camp kitchen;
  • A $5,500 matching grant to the Lancaster Public Library Foundation to purchase equipment and install technology in the Community Room;
  • $5,000 to Winskill Elementary School to purchase 15 document cameras for the early childhood through 2nd grade classrooms;
  • $1,105 to the Grant County Historical Society for the purchase of presentation equipment needed for increased outreach and to support historic programming;
  • $4,000 to the Lancaster Community Band for the purchase of percussion equipment as well as a sound system for the performance plaza at the public library;
  • $2,500 to the Lancaster EMS for the purchase of protective clothing for the new EMT’s;
  • $415 to Southwest Opportunities Center to purchase equipment for the shredding room operation; and
  • $5000 in one-time startup funding to support the relocation of the Grant County Holiday Project.

The final two grants from the Tiedemann Charitable Fund were presented simultaneously to St Clement School $18,000) and the Lancaster School District ($14,140). In announcing the grants that support the purchase and installation of the WAVE Critical Incident Notification System in the schools Krantz noted, “We are hopeful that these systems will NEVER be used but, in the event that there is a need – we are confident all of our staff will be informed and ready to respond.”

2018 Fall Lancaster Community Fund Grant Recipients
LCF Grant Recipients – Fall 2018. Seated (left to right): Cindy Busch and Jennifer Bernetzke (Lancaster Public Library); Dr. Rachel Lewis (Grant County Historical Society); Brandi Kamps (Wisconsin Badger Camp); Tori Leeser (Southwest Opportunities Center) Standing (left to right): Josh McLimans (Winskill Elementary); Marty and Lori Busch (Lancaster City Band); Sherlyn Kleinow (Grant County Holiday Project); Josh Jensen (St Clement School); Rob Wagner (Lancaster School District); Bill Schramm, Roger Irish, and Andy Robbins (Lancaster VFW, American Legion and DAV). Missing – representative from Lancaster EMS.

Members of the Lancaster Veterans organizations – the VFW, American Legion, and DAV – were present to accept a grant of $4,340 from the Gillilan Family Community Fund. The monies are for the purchase of color guard supplies to assure coordinated presentation for ceremonies.

At the conclusion of the event Krantz noted, “In 2019 we celebrate our 20th year! WOW!!! With these grants (our first was given in 2000), the Lancaster Community Fund has been privileged to award 205 grants totaling nearly $507,000. What an investment in this community! And, due to the generous donations by so many to our endowments, our work will continue in perpetuity. Our work is truly For Good. For Ever. For Lancaster!

The Lancaster Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, Inc., a tax-exempt public charity. It is governed by a local advisory board that includes Joe Krantz, chair; Susan Hermsen, Amara Hoffman, Sam Jonas, LuAnne Pink, Crysti Prange, Kevin Raisbeck, Megan Slane and Kyle Vesperman. For more information, contact Joe Krantz, advisory board chair; Kevin Raisbeck, advisory board vice chair; or Barb Daus, donor services representative with the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin (608-778-3344 or [email protected]). For further information about the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, visit

Share This Post

Make a Gift

We support giving of all levels, making your charitable giving meaningful and rewarding.

Available grants

Our grant-making program provides opportunities for your organization to receive financial support.