Iowa-Grant presents annual 5th Grade Elizabeth Summers Academic Achievement Awards

Winners are in top 10% of class, received recommendation from teacher

Six Iowa-Grant Middle School students were recently presented certificates and monetary awards made possible through a charitable bequest from the estate of Elizabeth J. Summers.

Parents, grandparents, friends and teachers attended the presentation which honored William Fulton, Quinn Hoeper, Noah Lange, Gabriella Munson, Trinity Phillips, Ellison Moen. These students earned the Elizabeth Summers Academic Achievement Award as fifth graders, during the 2018-2019 academic year. They were selected for being in the top 10% of their class as determined by their performance on standardized tests and on the recommendation of their teachers. This is the 8th year that awards have been made. The total monies distributed, to date, are $8,990.

In addressing the student recipients, Fred Skaife, a member of the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation Advisory Board, said, “We all know that you have worked hard to achieve this award. Awards just do not happen without plenty of hard work. Sometimes you probably have given up some other fun activity to spend extra time studying. We are proud of you and know that your parents, teachers, siblings & friends are also very proud of you.”

2019 Elizabeth Summers Academic Achievement Awardees with Faculty. Back row (left to right): 5th grade IG teachers Jessie Sig, Karyssa Prohaska, Kyle Riemenapp. Front Row (left to right): Student awardees William Fulton, Quinn Hoeper, Noah Lange, Gabriella Munson, Trinity Phillips, Ellison Moen

The Elizabeth J. Summers Elementary Academic Achievement Awards are awarded through a partnership of the Iowa-Grant School District, the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation (IGEF), and the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin (CFSW). In 2010, Fennimore Attorney David Kurth, representing the Summers estate, contacted the Iowa-Grant School District, sharing the news of a bequest of $30,000, given by Elizabeth Summers in honor of her older twin sisters who were rural school teachers. Josephine and Genevieve Kalile attended the Normal School in Platteville and taught in Boscobel, Mount Hope, Wingville and Castle Rock and in Boscobel, Anderson Mills, Beaver Dam and Mt. Horeb, respectively.

IGEF was established in 2000 and is a component of CFSW. Its mission is to build endowments that provides private resources for the support of the Iowa-Grant School District. For more information or to make a donation to the Foundation contact IGEF advisory board chair Dave Kalish ([email protected]), vice chair Fred Skaife ([email protected]) or CFSW Donor Services Representative Barb Daus ([email protected] or 608-778-3344). Donations to the Foundation can be sent to the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation, PO Box 124, Livingston, WI 53554 or can be made online at

Share This Post

Make a Gift

We support giving of all levels, making your charitable giving meaningful and rewarding.

Available grants

Our grant-making program provides opportunities for your organization to receive financial support.